history banner

Troop 4 was organized in the fall of 1997 and became a chartered troop in February of 1998.  The troop started with three Webelos scouts crossing over to Boy Scouts from Cub Scout Pack 4.  Robert Morin was the troop’s first scoutmaster and John Rowan was the troop committee chairman.

Soon after the troop was formed two additional Webelos crossovers from Pack 4 joined the troop, bringing the total of scouts in the troop to five.

The young scouts and troop started to camp and attended Camp Resolute as a troop in the summer of 1998.  In the fall and winter, the troop attended Council Camporees and camped with Troop 1 of Mendon, MA.

In Mach 1999, additional scouts joined the troop, including many Webelos scouts crossing over to boy Scouts from Cub Scout Pack 4.  David Kirchner succeeded Robert Morin as scoutmaster and Bruce Hamilton became the troop’s Assistant Scoutmaster.

In June of 1999, the trooped camped in the White Mountains of New Hampshire, and on this trip, the entire troop, consisting of only fifth and sixth grade scouts, climbed 4,800 foot Mt. Moosilauke.

The troop continued to grow in size and began to take on more outdoor adventures as the years went by.  For the 2002 week-long high adventure trip, the Troop attended summer camp at the Sabattis Scout Reservation in the wilderness area of the New York’s Adirondack Mountains.

In 2003, Jason Morin became the first Eagle Scout in the Troop, beginning the Troop 4 tradition of many scouts advancing to the rank of Eagle Scout.

In 2004, the Troop attended the Spanish Peaks Scout Ranch in the Colorado Rocky Mountains as its second week long troop high adventure.  The troop’s older scouts completed a 50 mile backpacking trip.  As part of the 50 miler, the Troop had 15 scouts and 3 adult leaders, the largest troop contingent in the 50 year history of the scout ranch, climb the 12,600 food summit of East Spanish Peak.

2004 also saw 6 scouts complete the difficult Hiking Merit Badge.  Scouts finished this badge by completing a 20mile day hike on the Tully Trail in Royalston, Massachusetts.

In 2006, Troop 4 tackled its third week long high adventure, by completing a self planned and self guided 50 miler canoe trip in the wilderness area of the New York’s Adirondack Mountains.  Also this year, the Troop recorded its 10th Eagle Scout in its short 8 year history.

2008 saw the retirement of Dave Kirchner and John Rowan as the Troop’s long serving Scoutmaster and Committee Chair.  Both leaders continued to serve on the Troop on committee.  Phil Bedard became Scoutmaster, and Peter Lanciano became the new Committee Chair.  In this same year, the Troop again visited Colorado for another high adventure trip at the BSA’s Camp Tahosa Adventure Base.  On this trip, nine of the Troop’s older scouts and two adult leaders completed a 50 mile backpack trip over glaciers and mountain peaks in the Indian Peaks Wilderness Area.

2008 also saw the departure of Fr. Mike Foley, our sponsor who helped us form Troop 4 in 2008.  Fr. Foley will forever be a great friend to Troop 4.  Click this link to read the recognition speech given by Committee Chair John Rowan.

In 2010, the Troop recorded its 20th Eagle Scout.  That summer, the Troop embarked on another 50 mile self guided canoe trip, this time on the East Branch of Maine’s Penobscot River.  High adventures continued in 2011 with 5 scouts and 5 leaders traversing the entire Presidential Range in New Hampshire over 4 challenging days and nights.

In 2012, Phil Bedard retired as Scoutmaster, handing the reins to Assistant Scoutmaster Ron Gorham.  Also, Peter Lanciano handed the Committee Chair reins over to Ken Rosa.   Both Phil and Peter stayed on the troop leadership team in supporting roles.   Christian Slutz concluded his tour of duty as SPL, earned his Eagle Scout award, and transitioned to the adult leadership as an Assistant Scoutmaster; all in the same year!  Lastly, 2012 saw the troop return to Colorado’s Camp Tahosa for another round of high adventure in the Indian Peaks Wilderness.

2014 brought in new leadership changes to the Troop.  Eagle Scout Wyatt Barie turned the SPL role over to Justin Stiles.  Ron Gorham handed the Scoutmaster reins to Brian Weber.  And Ken Rosa transferred the committee chairmanship role over to Mark Hobart.  The new adult leaders brought with them a wealth of leadership experience from both their previous assistant scoutmaster/committee roles, and from their Cub Scout Cubmaster/Committee Chairman roles from Pack 4.  Both leaders have a combined 20+ years of Scouting leadership experience.

Photo info:
The first photo was Troop 4’s first “high adventure” trip up Mt. Moosilauke. We did a 7 mile loop up the 4800 foot mountain with 5th and 6th graders.
The second photo is a classic troop meeting shot.
Both pictures include Bob Morin – the troops first scoutmaster. He was a great leader and one of the founders of the troop.